Dwight H. Persels Scholarship

DEA 2020 Scholarship Winners

The DEA awarded three students the 2020 Dwight H. Persels Scholarships. Two recipients are chosen based on the highest GPA and the third is chosen from the highest GPA to a student who intends to study education. Each recipient is awarded $700. This year because of social distancing, we could not have our usual award celebration during our May Rep Council meeting, so instead, the scholarships were delivered, with a small cake and balloon, following social distancing guidelines.

Michael Hill is a student at West High School and the son of member Monike Hill and Jeremy Hill. Michael plans to attend the University of Iowa and study music education.


Emma Kizer is a student at Central Dewitt and the daughter of member Jennifer Kizer and Warren Kizer. Emma plans to attend the University of Northern Iowa and study criminology with a minor in Spanish.

Ashton Snarr is a student at North High School, and the daughter of member Jamie Snarr and Tod Snarr. Ashton plans to attend Utah State University to study psychology.


Congratulations to the recipients!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s